News-Spot | Business News | Feb 03, 2015

LightingEurope Announces Election of Executive Board

LightingEurope is pleased to announce the election of Jan Denneman as President of the Executive Board, Peter Hunt as Vice-President, Alfred Haas as Treasurer for 2015, and Yves Robillard as Treasurer for 2016. Additional Board members include: Thomas Walentowski (BLV), Zoltan Koltai (GE Lighting), Peter Dillen (Havells-Sylvania), Klaus Breisch (Panasonic), Dietmar Zembrot (TRILUX), Johan Segers (AGORIA), Alfredo Berges (ANFALUM), Massimiliano Guzzini (ASSIL), Nathalie Coursière (IGNES), André ten Bloemendal (NLA), Lionel Brunet (Syndicat de l'Eclairage), and Dr. Jürgen Waldorf (ZVEI).

Mr. Denneman joins LightingEurope from Philips where he is Vice President for Industry Associations. Since 1976, he has been working for Philips in several roles within product development, business development, product management, marketing, sustainability, collection & recycling and standardization. He is also the President of the Global Lighting Association (GLA) and member of the Board of The Connected Lighting Alliance (TCLA) and previously served as Vice President of LightingEurope and as president of the European Lamp Companies Federation.

Mr. Hunt is a previous Executive Board member of LightingEurope and the C.O.O. of the United Kingdom’s Lighting Industry Association. He joined the Lighting Association Council of Management in 1987 and became President in 1992 during which time the Association established its own dedicated test laboratory for the industry. In 2008 he took over the role of CEO of the Lighting Association and played a key role in merging the LA with the Lighting Industry Federation in 2012 to create one association for the UK industry in the form of the current Lighting Industry Association, which represents 250 lighting companies and 150 associate members.

Mr. Haas is Vice President of Industry Associations, Public & Governmental Affairs at Osram GmbH, Munich Germany. He is also a member of the advisory board of OSRAM AG and OSRAM GmbH in Germany. Mr. Haas has been at Osram for more than 34 years. He started at strategy, continued in marketing and sales, lead the business unit CFL (Compact fluorescent energy saving lamps) and was head of consumer products in Europe, Near/Middle East, Africa and Latin America. Mr. Haas represents OSRAM in several boards of the ZVEI and GLA and is a previous Executive Board member of LightingEurope.

Mr. Robillard currently serves as the Product Management Director Thorn Global, which is part of the Zumtobel Group AG. He holds a Master in Economic Sciences and foreign languages from Lille University and an Executive MBA from HEC Paris. He has previously served on the Executive Board of LightingEurope.

Say, Diederik de Stoppelaar, Secretary General of LightingEurope, “We are very much looking forward to the energy and insight of the new Presidium and Executive Board. Collectively, they bring enormous experience and expertise—and that is exactly what is needed as we address the radically changing landscape of lighting.”

LightingEurope is an industry association of 30 European lighting manufacturers, national associations, and companies producing materials. LightingEurope members represent over 1,000 European companies, a majority of which are SMEs; a total workforce of over 100,000 people in Europe; and an annual turnover estimated to exceed 20 billion euros. LightingEurope is dedicated to promoting efficient lighting practices for the benefit of the global environment, human comfort, and the health and safety of consumers.


Lumileds Maximizes Field Usable Lumens: New LUXEON HL2X LED

Lumileds Maximizes Field Usable Lumens: New LUXEON HL2X LED Lumileds introduces the LUXEON HL2X, the ideal choice for roadway lighting and sports lighting fixtures with the highest flux and efficiency in an industry standard package. "With 318+ lumens at 700 mA and 85°C, LUXEON HL2X delivers more 'field usable lumens' for optical engineers to work with. ... Read more »


Australian Associated Press Recently Wrote: Red Light Could Improve Over-40s' Eyesight

Australian Associated Press Recently Wrote: Red Light Could Improve Over-40s' Eyesight A small LED torch that emits deep red light could help improve declining eyesight, scientists have said: A study by University College London, involving a small sample size of 24 people, has shown that staring at long wavelength light for three minutes every day can "significantly improve vision" ... Read more »


Signify Invests to Broaden Its UV-C Lighting Portfolio for Professional Disinfection

Signify Invests to Broaden Its UV-C Lighting Portfolio for Professional Disinfection Signify, the world leader in lighting, is increasing its UV-C lighting production capacity and expanding its UV-C product portfolio. The company is leveraging more than 35 years of expertise in UV-C lighting to address the growing global need for the disinfection of air, surfaces and objects. Read more »